Licensing fees from marketplace sales; split negotiated. Data owners or aggregators passing rights and quality checks. Confirm the final scope and acceptance terms before providing records.
This profile checks the public program and its stated terms. It does not authenticate a particular sender, audit completed deals, or certify security practices. No owner rating or paid-outcome estimate is assigned.
How evidence is checked · Commercial disclosureWhat is Defined.ai’s company-data program?
Defined.ai offers a managed data-partner route into its AI dataset marketplace. Its review covers commercial demand, dataset quality, licensing rights and compliance. Official program ↗
Who is the counterparty?
Defined.ai is categorized here as marketplace. This describes the published route, not necessarily the entity that trains an AI model. Confirm the contracting company, its authority to license the records and the ultimate permitted recipients. A real company can still be impersonated; reach its program through the official source linked here.
Which records does it describe?
Audio datasets, Video datasets, Images, Text collections, Multimodal data, Code and technical datasets. Official program ↗
What does that mean for your archive?
Map these categories to the systems and date ranges your company actually retains. Include linked decisions and outcomes where available, but identify customer restrictions, personal information, third-party content and privileged material separately. A match with a listed category is a reason to ask about eligibility, not approval to send an export.
Which companies may qualify?
Businesses that generate or aggregate data. Admission includes rights, quality, metadata, legal and cybersecurity checks; a separate service-supplier program covers collection and annotation work. Official program ↗
How much does Defined.ai publish?
Not publicly verified. Official program ↗
How should you interpret that figure?
Published bands, illustrative calculators and quoted examples are different types of evidence. None is a guaranteed price for your company. Where no range has been verified, do not fill the gap with another provider’s estimate. Request a written proposal identifying the records, rights, deductions and conditions behind the amount.
When and how is payment described?
Data partners can earn licensing fees from marketplace sales. The reviewed program page does not specify a universal revenue split or payment timetable. Official program ↗
What does this business model mean for an owner?
Listing a dataset makes it available to potential customers; it does not establish a sale. Ask who sets the price, what the platform deducts, when revenue is recognized, and whether you can remove a listing or license elsewhere.
Which evidence is available, and what is still open?
These labels describe disclosure, not quality scores. “Verify in writing” means this review does not establish the term for your transaction.
| Criterion | Evidence status | Owner check |
|---|---|---|
| Program identity | Official source linked | Use the provider’s own domain to verify the sender and contracting entity. |
| Record fit | Categories described | Audio datasets, Video datasets, Images. Ask for a bounded scope. |
| Eligibility | Published description | Businesses that generate or aggregate data. Admission includes rights, quality, metadata, legal and cybersecurity checks; a separate service-supplier program covers collection and annotation work. |
| Price visibility | No verified public range | Not publicly verified |
| Payment mechanics | Published description | Data partners can earn licensing fees from marketplace sales. The reviewed program page does not specify a universal revenue split or payment timetable. |
| Exclusivity and downstream rights | Verify in writing | Confirm duration, permitted uses, sublicensing and whether competing licenses are allowed. |
| Acceptance and deletion | Verify in writing | Specify rejection rules, access expiry, retention and deletion of samples and rejected records. |
What is not yet established?
- Confirm the licensing percentage, deductions, payment timing and any exclusivity in the proposed agreement.
- Promoted partner revenue figures are not forecasts for an individual seller.
How should you start the conversation?
Begin with a non-sensitive description of your company, systems, approximate history and record categories. Ask for the legal entity name and proposed use before providing samples. Use a separately scoped sample with agreed handling terms; a request for broad administrator access deserves a specific explanation and a limited-access alternative.
Questions to resolve before signing
- Which exact records and time periods are included, and which are excluded?
- Who accepts the data, using what test, and by what deadline?
- What amount reaches us after fees and costs, and when is it due?
- Which customers or labs may receive copies, and for which uses?
- Can we license the same records elsewhere, and what happens if no buyer is found?
- How are samples, rejected records and retained copies deleted or restricted?
Which alternatives are worth comparing?
These are comparison routes, not ranked recommendations. Similar program models come first; eligibility and current demand can still differ. Compare the same record scope with each provider.
| Provider / model | Payment | Published figure | Fit to investigate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Defined.aiMarketplace | Licensing fees from marketplace sales; split negotiated | Not publicly verified | Data owners or aggregators passing rights and quality checks Source ↗ |
| DataVendor (HUD)Marketplace | Buyer purchase required; confirm current fees and payout timing | $5K+ codebase baseline in HUD's June 2026 guidedated provider pricing; not a current universal payout | Clear licensing rights and supply meeting listing requirements Source ↗ |
| FileYieldMarketplace | Buyer and seller arrange payment; platform does not process it | Not publicly verified | Authorized sellers with independently established licensing rights Source ↗ |
| AppenDirect licensing | Negotiated fee on acceptance; preparation costs covered | Not publicly verified | Enterprises with operational history; wind-downs considered Source ↗ |
| AvelenceIntermediary | Partner-negotiated milestones; free initial profile | $160K–$500K example: 20 US employees, 10 years of recordscalculator example; not an offer | Retained company records; selected partner sets criteria Source ↗ |
See all 25 providers side by side · Read the detailed two-provider comparisons
Have a proposal from Defined.ai?
Record the amount, scope, payment trigger and open terms in the local comparison worksheet. It organizes the information you enter; it does not value your archive, contact providers or publish individual offers.
Sources & further reading
Provider statements are attributed claims, not audited outcomes. Reviewed 19 October 2026.